Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 25th, 2011

It’s days like these. Inspiration can come from anywhere. I follow @madmarv on twitter. I met him at a @Bytemarks lunch. The topic was WordPress training. Anyway, he tweeted that he was getting his hair cut. For some reason, I followed the link to here. One of the blog entries mentioned stuffing a whole cucumber in Japanese fishcake. First reaction was “what the?” Second reaction was tell me more.

Anyhoo, getting to the point, the blogmaster was very kind to provide details. Sounded simple enough, get one Japanese cucumber, get one chikawa style Japanese fish cake, (this particular fishcake is like a long tube that steamed and broiled. When sliced, it looks like a ring or donut) insert whole cucumber into fishcake, slice, eat. Okay, the narration may not be adequate, here are the pictures.

Cucumber, Package of Fishcake

Fishcake, Cucumber, Slightly Peeled

Sorry, the above picture is a bit blurred, must be operator malfunction.

Cucumber Stuffed Fishcake

Close Up

These were good (the socks came off). The sweetness and crunch  of the cucumber blended well with the chew and saltiness of the fishcake. Now I know why egg104 was enamored by the dish. I definitely would do this one again.

The fishcake stretches to accommodate the cucumber, but there are limits. Best to look for a cucumber that is close to the size of the hole in the fishcake. In this case, size matters (doesn’t it always). 😛

I must admit, the experience of trying to stuff the cucumber into the fishcake is a little disconcerting (I’ll stop before I really get myself into trouble).

BTW, while researching chikawa fishcake, I came across this recipe from the local newspaper. The recipe added a mayonnaise shoyu dipping sauce (it didn’t need it). Then again, I may riff a spicy dipping sauce.

Thanks egg104, excellent suggestion.

Not sure if this is a salad, vegetable, or side, you decide.

Finding a new recipe from a stranger, connecting with food, wow, world peace (or whirled peas).

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

