Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 7th, 2011

Beer. Yesterday, we took some good friends, T&R, here for dinner (they are the reason I attempted the “bacon jam”).

Sign

Entrance

Chair Cushions

The Cat wanted a picture of the chair cushions because they had elephants on them (go figure). While they were talking, I ordered.

Royal Chicken Soup

The soup was very interesting. Predominantly coconut milk and lemon grass flavor. My eyes were telling me cream of chicken soup or chowder, but my tongue was telling me another story, East Asian tropical.

Fried Calamari

Appetizer Sampler

Ong Choi with Chicken

String Beans with Shrimp

Eggplant with Shrimp

Soft Shelled Crab

I think the soft shelled crab was the high point of  the meal. It came with a curry sauce (on the side) with peas and string beans that was excellent (forgot to take a picture of the sauce). 😦

Although we ordered everything mild, there was still a hint of spiciness to the dishes (in a good way).

We shared a dessert.

Fried Banana Ala Mode

Good friends, good food, good conversation, all is good in the world. 🙂

Why the title? Usually, T would have a glass of wine with his dinner, but he and the tannins in the wine have not been getting along lately. So tonight, he had a glass of wine instead. Probably TMI. But it was a reference to a favorite song. I think I’m getting a little too esoteric, oh well. 😉

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

