Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 1st, 2012

Sometimes, Just Gotta Ask

Somehow, I thought Popeyes Louisiana Chicken (1515 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, Hawaii) served fried chicken livers, but when I stopped by several weeks ago, it wasn’t listed on their menu. I like liver: pâté, liverwurst, foie gras, ankimo, etc. I think I learned from my father. I was quite disappointed I couldn’t try deep-fried chicken livers. :(

This week, I was near Popeyes again. Thought I’d look one more time. No deep-fried chicken livers on the menu. Sigh. I was just about to leave when I thought to ask, just to be sure. Lo and behold, the person at the counter said they did have deep-fried chicken livers. Not too many people order it so they didn’t list it on the menu. Of course I want to try.

Deep-Fried Chicken Livers

I was too chicken (oops, sorry), to order it hot, ordered it mild. Crispy on the outside, soft and irony on the inside. Have to eat them while they’re hot though, kind of funky when they cool down.

Since I was there, also ordered a biscuit with butter and honey.

Biscuit

Butter and Honey

I think deep-fried chicken liver is my new “junk food”. Hold me back.

I have to find an excuse to be in the area again soon. Sometimes, just gotta ask. :)

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,951 other followers

