Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 17th, 2012

Pork Mountain

Stopped in at one of the chop suey houses the other day for lunch. The staff was making “gau gee”.

Making Gau Gee

As far as I can  tell, gau gee  is a local phenomena. I consider gau gee the bigger cousin to won ton. There’s more filling, and it’s sealed with a simple fold, I don’t think it’s meant to symbolize anything. I’ve eaten them deep-fried, steamed (with a spicy sauce), and in soup.

Side Shot

Gau Gee at 11 o'clock

Gau Gee at 1 o'clock

To put that meat mountain in perceptive, the bowl of scrambled egg that’s sitting on top is a regular sized Chinese rice bowl or individual soup bowl (the egg is used to help seal the gau gee).

Close Up

That’s a lot of meat. :D

BTW: I think it’s appropriate I share with you a picture I found on one of the “I can haz cheezburger” sister sites.

Porking

I want this in front of my house or in my kitchen (if I ever get a kitchen that can fit it).

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,794 other followers

