Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 28th, 2010

This past Tuesday, I was planning on picking up a couple of corn dogs from our neighborhood mall. For the longest time, every Tuesday, the corn dog shop offered corn dogs for one dollar each. Last week, a sign was posted saying that this past Tuesday would be the last time the discount was offered. I’ve never tried the corn dogs before so it would be my first and only chance.

On Tuesday afternoon, The Cat calls and says that one of our friends from Shanghai is in town on their way to Las Vegas and we’re meeting them in the evening. Sigh, there goes the corn dogs.

The Cat wanted a quiet place we could meet with ambiance, atmosphere, and scenery. The Cat doesn’t ask for much.

We ended up at Wai’olu at the Trump Waikiki Hotel for “drinks.”

Entrance

Interior View

I decided on here because it’s supposed to be quiet enough to have a conversation, there was a view (not necessarily an ocean view), and there were private “nooks.”

Private "Nook"

While the friends already had dinner, The Cat and I didn’t.

We ordered some appetizers for the friends and two light meals for The Cat and myself. The friends started out with Longboard Lager from the Kona Brewing Company, which they liked.

For appetizers, I ordered

Edamame "Hummus"

Chicken Liver Pate

Grilled Polenta with Forest Mushrooms

Out of the three, I liked the grilled polenta the best with the pate coming in a close second.

For our dinners, The Cat had tencha, steamed rice and tempura with green tea broth.

Tencha

I had the black truffle risotto.

Black Truffle Risotto

The Cat liked her tencha, I liked my risotto, although I wish the restaurant made the plate of risotto a bit more aesthetically pleasing.

For their second glass, I ordered the Kona Brewing Company’s Fire Rock Pale Ale. The friend’s liked both beers, but if they had to choose one, the Fire Rock Pale Ale took the prize.

For something sweet, we ordered hazelnut gelato and tiramisu.

Hazelnut Gelato

Tiramisu

Both were good, but again, if only one could be chosen, the gelato took the prize.

We’re supposed to meet up with them again tomorrow for dinner at the Ocean House (I should post about that event soon). :-)

An update. We did take these people to Ocean House for dinner. Did not take pictures. I posted about this restaurant before and did not want to bore with a similar post. I’ll just say our guest enjoyed themselves (we arrived just before sunset).

So, I didn’t get my corn dogs, but met an old friend and got introduced to new friends, and got to try a new place instead. A good trade, I think.

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,142 other followers

