Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 27th, 2010

Tokyo Negi

While browsing the clearance rack in the produce section the other day, I came across a package of Tokyo negi for $1.99. I’ve never tried Tokyo negi but the price has always been prohibitive for me to experiment with (usually about six dollars per pound). The package was at least a pound. There was not a whole lot of visible damage or yellowing of the vegetable except that the stalks and green portions were separated. I was curious for a while about Tokyo negi. Was is like a leek (which I’ve hadn’t had the opportunity to try yet either), or like a giant green onion (which I would know what to do with). In any case, $1.99 is an acceptable price for me even if the dishes were an epic fail.

Tokyo Negi

In scanning through the internet, I came across this article: http://www.honolulumagazine.com/Honolulu-Magazine/September-2004/Savoring-the-negi/. Since Tokyo negi could be used similarly to onions and green onions, I decided to eat it with sardines. I used the oil that came with the sardines to braise the Tokyo negi.

Braised Tokyo Negi

A bowl of rice, sardines, and Tokyo negi, a perfect meal.

Yum!

Because the Tokyo negi was purchased on a whim in the clearance section, I had to decide quickly what to do with it. I also wanted to do a clean preparation to focus on the Tokyo negi. Next time, I may add it to shoyu pork. Hmmm, the possibilities.

My only complaint is that the Tokyo negi is a bit more fibrous that onions, kind of got stuck in my braces. A minor annoyance.

Have a good weekend.

Enjoy.

The Mouse.

Read Full Post »

Doufu Gan

During the field trip to the soybean factory this week, I bought some doufu gan (see 24 August 2010 post).

Doufu Gan

Doufu Gan, Interior

Doufu gan is doufu with most of its moisture removed. In addition, doufu gan usually has a coating of Chinese Five-Spice on its surface.  According to The Cat, doufu gan is traditionally stir-fried with celery.

Putting my own spin, this week, I added doufu gan to stir-fried zucchini,

Stir-Fried Zucchini with Doufu Gan

and stir-fried carrots.

Stir-Fried Carrots with Doufu Gan

In the past, I noticed that the Chinese Five-Spice coating on the doufu gan imparts a very subtle flavor to the stir-frys. I add more Chinese Five-Spice when I season the dishes.  Seasonings include salt, sugar, Shao Xing wine, and Chinese Five-Spice. The addition of Chinese Five-Spice to the seasoning increases the flavor to a more substantial profile.

Just a suggestion.

Enjoy.

The Mouse

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,040 other followers

